Breakfast, Dinner, Serves 2, super filling, Uncategorized, Under 30 min

Middle Eastern eggs with merguez and Pistachios – Brilliant Brunch

20170408_121540.jpg

Found as I was flicking through one of my numerous cooking magazines- an April edition from a few years back- and He and I spy something that we both think “now that would make a good Saturday brunch.”

If he and I are both off on a weekend day breakfast normally rolls over into being some sort of brunch and its becoming as somewhat reliable tradition.

I confess that I did not actually use the sausages named in the title -merguez- which are a lamb and beef sausage from north Africa. I am sure I could have found some if I had looked harder – but what I found were some nice Aberdeen Angus beef sausages reduced down – have I mentioned He is Scottish?- and I cannot resist a good yellow label if I know I have a recipe it will work in.

 20170408_113924

What you will need

Drizzle of olive oil / rape seed oil

1 red onion – chopped

6 merguez sausages (I ended up using Aberdeen angus and black pepper chipolatas.)

15 cherry tomatoes halved

Pinch of sugar (any sugar)

3 tsp harissa paste

2 eggs

2 wholemeal pitta breads

Pinch of paprika (apparently optional – I think not so optional-

2 tbsp. Greek yogurt

Few sprigs of parsley

Heat drizzle in heavy bottom small frying pan – cast iron if you have it. Something sturdy if you don’t

Add onion and cook for a few mins until soft, push them to one side. Add sausages and fry for 5-20 mins rolling them around in the pan till they get golden.

Add tomatoes, sugar, harissa, season well and add a splash of water – cook for 5-10 mins stirring now and again

The tomatoes will cook down into a nice chunky sauce

Push sauces to one side and create two large holes in the sauce so you can crack your eggs in. cook for 4-5 mins until whites are set and yolks are still runny – toast the pittas at this stage.

Sprinkle paprika on to eggs- just a pinch, dollop on the yogurt and sprinkle with pistachios and parsley

Serve with the pittas cut in half and on the side

Listen to something that makes you feel like you’re in the sun. Enjoy. This really was a treat for my taste buds. And His. And She came home and thought the house smelt delicious… WINNER

Wash up.

Chop board

Knife

Measuring spoons.

1 frying pan

Whatever you serve it in if you don’t eat it straight from your pan when you bring it to your table.

Nom nom nom

Leave a Reply

