Uncategorized

What Happens When I can’t be bothered to cook a meal? Hunger Stop-corn

Sometimes I can’t be bothered. Sometimes I just want to snack while I goggle watch or read or listen to music. Something with a bit of crunch.

POPCORN.

since discovering how easy it is to make fresh I have not bought a microwave packet – its so much cheaper this way and you can control the flavor/saltiness.

I am still learning what size serving I need however. there was the time i reached for a *slightly* too small pan and ended up with a scene from a kids cartoon trying to contain the tower of corn as it pushed the lid off the pan.  Last night proved one thing – I should not make it in my stockpot if it is just me eating….

You will need : sauce pan WITH A FITTING LID

popping corn kernels- depending on size of pan, but for a 1-2 person serving Id say about 1/2 or 1/3 of a cup

1/4 cup sunflower oil.

1/4 -1/2 tsp salt – although i confess I free pour from the shaker for the count of 3

 

Heat oil in pan, put it on a high heat for a min with nothing else in it to get it to temp

Add in your corn. Put the lid on. Leave it alone. Let the magic happen

Once the pops have subsided and you can count 1-5 before there is another pop take the pan off the heat and leave for 30 seconds. this is so you don’t life the lid to a late pop sending things everywhere. and so you don’t try to put it in your mouth while still HOTTER THAN THE SUN.

sprinkle through the salt in to the pan, put the lid back on and give it a good shake around to get that sodium everywhere

enjoy. – I add chocolate to mine cos I’m a sweet/salty fiend. In my most recent version I added chocolate raisins. He is a bit jealous he was not here to try this flavor combo – or maybe hes just upset I ate all the chocolate raisins.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

